Today, nine years ago was probably one of the worse days of my life. I will never forget it. It was the day I was going to Marco Island, FL for the first time. See my friends insisted in taking me since I was the only Miamian that had never been to Marco Island ever. But I didn’t want to go. I didn’t. Something in me was telling me not to go. It was strange. So around 2pm, I still had not asked my parents for permission, but I figured, hmmm…maybe I should go with the earlier car. Because I knew mom and dad will not be too thrilled if I left to Marco at night. So I called my friend who was driving the first car, but for some odd reason we couldn’t communicate. I rushed to my boyfriend’s (at the time) house and when I got there, I had missed them by a few seconds. Ahhhhhhhhhh!!!! How frustrating. If I had ran that yellow light I would have made it. Geez!!!!

Oh wellz, I’ll just go with the boyfriend and the other friend to Marco at night. In the meantime, I’ll go to work. I was a babysitter at the time. Still at the boyfriend’s house, the boyfriend met up with me. It was strange he kept on opening the door. But there was no one there. Yet this strong gush of wind will blow through the entryway. It was sort of odd. I went to pick up my munchkin at her recital practice. I had a beeper at the time, and I get two 911 beeps from another friend. Hmmm…I got immediately pissed off because I thought they were unnecessary. So, I got the little one in the car. And went to a public phone and called. Amidst the tears and the screaming, I was able to make it out the following words—accident, two friends, my best friend, and no hospital. I suddenly felt a nervous tingly sensation all over my body. An uncontrollable force came over me and I just started weeping. I got in the car and told the munchkin to tell me jokes. She did. The whole way. I dropped her off at her mom’s work and rushed to my friend’s house (the one that had told me the news) only to find out that it was true. My best friends had just died in a horrific car accident. Nineteen years of age. Perfect girl, perfect student, perfect friend and daughter. Perfect being. I felt as if life was taken out of me. If it had fled me. My time clock had stopped. I saw people moving around me but I couldn’t move along with them. I could hardly breathe. I was numbed. Distraught. I couldn’t eat, drink, think, anything. I just felt all feeling and desire to feel had escaped me. How could the person that I was the closest to disappear? From one day to the next? I just didn’t get it. I don’t know.

Today, I still miss her as much as that day 9 years ago. I wish she was here. Next to me. But I think of her everyday. I know she will always be with me. In my heart. What this has taught me? To truly treasure my friends and family. We are on borrowed time here, and we should never take our loved ones for granted. For you don’t know if that is the last moment you will share together…

