anger.jpg

“When anger rises, think of the consequences.”
–Confucius (551 BC – 479 BC)

“Anger makes dull men witty, but it keeps them poor.”
–Elizabeth I (1533 – 1603), in Francis Bacon, Apophthegms, 1625

Anger…ahhhhh…hrrrrr…I am angry today. Angry at someone, but specifically mad at myself. Angry because I believe that one makes choices and one is ultimately responsible for the consequences. This belief is truly honorable but at the same time it leaves you with only one person to blame, and that is yourself.

I live in a free country, and I ultimately make my own choices. Why sometimes do I get into situations that later I might regret? I do not know. I think to a degree everyone does that. Sometimes I cannot see the future, only the today, and maybe that is why I do it.

The problem with anger is that it does not let you think rationally. It clouds the reality of the situation. It truly makes you react and not think. I have been accused of over thinking but when I am mad I don’t think. I just react. In this tunnel of self discovery that I have been riding for the past few months I have been striving to become a better person. This once I will not let my anger take over. I am breathing. Counting to 10. And meditating on possible solutions to my problem. Hopefully, at the end I grow some more and I learn a thing or two in the process. For now, it’s hard. I just want to scream in rage. But I know better now…than that…