grow.jpg

I love Grey’s Anatomy. And I mean love. Ever since the first episode, I fell in love with the show. Maybe it’s because it appealed to my demographic or something but I just love the show.

In any event, I just finished watching last week’s episode titled “Change is going to come”. And the main themes where adjustment to change, to expectations and growth. Hmmm…don’t I know those topics well.

Okay, first off, who hasn’t planned out or thought out their future? Don’t you have a mental picture of how things will be next week, next month, next year??? You could lie to everyone else, but deep inside I’m sure all of you have a vague idea of which direction you want to be heading in. Now the deviation between what we want for ourselves and the reality I think is measured by two things:

1. Freakiness of nature and all the events that take place that just stir you in unexpected directions
2. Passion vs. Conformity

The first one is pretty straight forward. I mean things happen. Shit happens. You cannot avoid someone dying or a car accident, or a hurricane or any of those things. It sucks. Then you get stuck in these situations and you think, what about me??? Why me??? Why??? But the reality is that those changes will shape your life and that results in the readjustment of your expectations over and over again. Believe me, I never thought I will end up in Rhode Island. NEVER!!! But I had to readjust my expectations. It’s hard. It’s hard to keep on readjusting all the time. But if you don’t do it, how can you survive???

The second point really is all about effort. How much energy do you want to put into it??? Into your life??? You could conform and just let it be and complain and moan about it. Or you could actually get off your lazy bum and do something about it.

Meredith said that growing up is hard. And I agree with that. I have done more growing up in the past three years than ever before. And it has hurt. And I cry, still to this day. But these changes are good. They are forcing me to readjust my attitudes, my beliefs, my core. They are making me a better person. Or so I hope. And that is what keeps me going. So, my advice…learn to readjust…

