should.jpg

What is it about the word should that gets you? What does it mean to you to should? Well, last night at an ungodly hour, I was watching an episode of Sex in the City. Carrie Bradshaw posed the question of the word “should” and what it represents in our lives.

A woman should grow up and get married. A woman should be a mother. A woman should take care of her husband. A Latin woman should take care of her parents. Should…should…should…hmmm…Why should we??? Why should the man be the sole provider of the family? Why should a man have short hair? Why should a man have to like sports? I feel in a way we have all these preconceived notions of should and what we are expected to do.

Honestly, I shouldn’t anything. I help my mother because I want to not because I should. I work because I want to and not because I should. I have my apartment because I want to not because I should. And I don’t have a boyfriend because I want to, not because I’m in some desperate race to shoulding a marriage.

Should…should…should…I think is the quickest path to Conformity Road

