stop-watch.jpg

(Bear with me a bit…I’ll ramble for a while…but I do have a point at the end)

I mentioned once before that I am a big fan of Madonna. In her last CD, Confessions of a Dance Floor, track number 8, Jump, starts out and I quote “the more time that you wait, the more time that you waste”…

Coincidentally, this past weekend I was bored out of my mind and I watched “The Devil Wears Prada” where they play the same song…

As I was growing up one of the points my dad kept on ingraining into my head was the following: “You need to have long term goals and you need to have short term goals”. That statement sort of baffled me. How can I define the time frames? How was I supposed to know what was short term? Was it a week? A month? A year? Where was there a break between long and short? I never was able to get it.

I moved to Providence, RI, about four months ago from Los Angeles. Needless to say, it has been a BIGGGG CHANGE. Going from one of the largest cities in the US to a very small one requires some significant lifestyle adjustments. And in the past four months, I have been questioning my choices. Was this the right move? Should I have stayed in LA longer? Was a year enough to experience the West Coast (previously I lived in Miami)? I just wasn’t sure. And I hate having to second guess myself. And then suddenly, one day, bored, driving aimlessly around RI, I listened to Madonna again.

It dawned on me that there are no set guidelines to define short or long. There are too many variables that go into that equation, such as the situation, the person who it is affecting and many other factors. What one needs to figure out is the variables according to you! How does a situation affect you and what you need to gain or lose from that circumstance? I was in LA for 11 months. To me it still feels like a short time, but in reality if I would have stayed, I would have wasted my time. I was comfortable though and it wasn’t easy to move. I had friends, I had a life and I liked it. It took me a while to get there and to just have to give it up again to start from scratch AGAIN, was not easy. But like I said before, if I was still in California, I would have just wasted my time. The same goes into so many other situations, we do not welcome the change or the challenge because we are so comfortable or we forget to push ourselves. In a way this post is related to one previous post I wrote about Passion Avenue.

If you want to look at example from “The Devil Wears Prada”, Andy stayed working at Runway for less than a year. She knew that she needed a year to get whatever other internship or job she wanted, but life threw her a curved ball and the “time” came up before she planned. She left the magazine, and ran a risk. Not to mention, she was questioned about her choices, but at the end, she was able to achieve what she wanted, and any more time serving Miranda as a glorified and well dressed secretary would have been a waste. This also applies to personal relationships. Sometimes we stay in a relationship because we think we could salvage it or because we think the other person could change. When we know deep inside those things will not change. So we stay and waste our time.

Another thing, my father said to me was “the time you waste, you will never regain”. And that my friends is very true. So, think about it…is it time to break???

