Jarabe de Palo means Pole Syrup or Medicine. Yes, I know it does not make much sense, but there are just certain phrases that are not up for translation. In any event, Jarabe de Palo is a Spanish band that I have liked for many years. Lately, I have been forced due to circumstance to listen to my Ipod more often so I am rediscovering old albums. In that rediscovery I found this song that I have loved since it first came out…


Artist: Jarabe De Palo
Album: Bonito
Year: 2003
Title: No Sé Estar Enamorado

No se estar enamorado, ni mirarte enamorado
Y decirte que te quiero, cuando estoy enamorado
No se estar enamorado, ni besarte enamorado
Ni siquiera cuando te amo se que estoy enamorado
Aquí cambias de ritmo y le das dos vueltas al circulo

Yo te quiero con locura y no se estar enamorado
Aprenderme cuesta tanto, que me creo que no valgo
Acostumbrado a no querer, creí que no te quería, que poco no me conocía
Creí que no te quería, y sin ti me moriría yee

De las cosas de querer solo se que no se nada
De las cosas del querer solo se que nada se
Con las cosas de querer que difícil es saber
Cuando estas enamorado y sin ti me moriría

No se estar enamoradoooooo
Ni decirte que te quiero, ni gritarte que te amo,
Aprender cuesta tanto, tanto tanto tanto tanto

Creí que no te quería, y sin ti no se que haría
Y sin ti no viviría, y sin ti me moriría

If you cannot speak the language, the song talks about how one does not know how to be in love. Even thought, there is this love that is growing and one cannot seem to live without, it is hard to learn how to love and be in love.

If you must discover this band, they also have a new album out Adelantado. If you ever listen to them, close your eyes, think you are in a tavern in Madrid having some great tapas and enjoying life.

